"Moustache"

Image Details: ‘Moustache’ by Paul Mutant, via Flickr.

Welcome to Episode 6 of the Shinybees podcast – ‘Modown’. This episode is brought to you from a somewhat cooler than SA UK. We have a pattern pick in celebration of Movember and an interview with Carlé of Nurturing Fibres, a South African indie dyer from Cape Town.

Listen here

Welcome 

Hello to all new and returning listeners! Today is World AIDS Day. Know your status. Also, you are cordially invited to join myself, Martine from iMake, Laura from Apocalyptic Diner and Amanda from Craftlife for the December Podcaster hangout, next Saturday, 8th December at 1900 GMT/2100 SAST/1400 EST/1300CST. You can watch the video live on Google+ or Amanda’s YouTube channel, or listen to an audio only version, which will be available via the iMake podcast. More details can be found on the iMake blog.

Pattern Pick ([11:10])

This week there is another pattern pick, inspired by Movember. We dispense with the obvious choice of moustache and plump instead for that essential male wardrobe item: the knitted/crocheted thong. You can view the pattern list on my Ravelry queue here. If you want to have a look at the ‘Bad Taste Bear‘ website, you can do so. Be warned. It is a bit wrong.

Interview ([25:00])

We have an interview with the lovely Carlé from Nurturing Fibres in Cape Town. You can check out her website here, the Nurturing Fibres group on Ravelry here, or see Pinky’s new shop selling Nurturing Fibres here. The range of Western Cape yarns can be found at Natural Yarns. The UK based stockist is Addicted 2 Knit.

Wrap up ([54:15])

Thank you for listening, I hope you have enjoyed this episode. Please feel free to get in touch, I love to hear from listeners. I am Shinybees on Ravelry and Twitter, you can leave a comment on the blog or email me at shinybeesinfo@gmail.com.